Board of Education of Harford County

A.A. Roberty Building 102 S. Hickory Avenue, Bel Air, Maryland 21014 Telephone: 410-838-7300 FAX: 410-638-4051 Customer Action Line (24 hours): 410-638-0022 Web Site: http://www.hcps.org

Welcome to the Board Meeting: If you wish to appear before the Board, please complete a request form and place it in the public comment in-box **BEFORE THE MEETING BEGINS.**

Please note the following time restrictions for public comments: Three minutes- Individual. Five minutes- Group Representation.

Agenda

Monday, May 18, 2020

Board Open Session - 5:40 PM - Board Room

Board Closed Session - 5:45 PM - Board Executive Conference Room

Board Business Meeting 6:30 PM - Board Room

This meeting of the Board of Education of Harford County will be conducted entirely via teleconference

102 S. Hickory Avenue A.A. Roberty Building Bel Air, MD 21014

SPECIAL NOTICE: Due to COVID19, this meeting will be conducted entirely via teleconference; there is no public access to the A.A. Roberty Building, 102 S. Hickory Avenue, Bel Air, MD 21014. Board members and presenters will participate via teleconference. The agenda and materials are available on www.hcps.org under Board of Education meetings. Agenda items have been condensed to include only those items that require Board action at this time. In light of the logistical/technological issues involved with allowing public comment, it is anticipated that the Board will vote to waive the requirement that the Board receive in-person public comment, and that in substitution for in-person public comment, the Board will receive public comment via e-mail as more fully described in the public comment notice. Public comments may be submitted in writing to www.hcps.org/contactus

The Audio Live Stream is available on HCPS.ORG/BOE/LIVESTREAM.

*Times are approximate

6:30 PM Call to Order: Board President Quorum Roll Call Adoption of Agenda

6:35 PM Board Member Comments

6:50 PM Public Comment

Old Business

Action Item(s): 7:05 PM

A. Consent Agenda:

- 1. Contract Award: Student Laptops
- 2. Contract Award: Fourteen (14) New Vehicles
- 3. Minutes of Previous Board Meeting(s): May 4, 2020, May 8, 2020
- 4. Recommendations for Non-Renewal

5. Request to Waive, In Part, Provisions of Board Policy 22-0008-000 - Public Participation at Board Open Meetings or Public Hearings

Request to Waive Partial Provisions of Board Policy 02-0010-000 - Participation in Extracurricular Activities 6.

New Business

Action Item(s):

- Decision on Appointments and Promotions, Ms. Jean Mantegna, Assistant Superintendent for 7:10 Human Resources B. PM
- Assistant Principal Pool Candidates for Elementary and Secondary Schools
- 7:20 C. Decision on Transfers Between State Categories for the FY2020 Budget, Ms. Deborah Judd,

- PM Assistant Superintendent for Business Services, Mr. Eric Clark, Director of Budget
- 7:30 Decision on Transfer of Funds Between Capital Projects, Ms. Deborah Judd, Assistant
- PM D. Superintendent for Business Services, Mr. Cornell Brown, Assistant Superintendent of Operations

Presentation(s):

- 7:35 E. Presentation on Quarterly Financial Report for the Period Ending March 31 2020, Ms. Deborah Judd, Assistant Superintendent for Business Services
- 7:45 Presentation of 2020 Educational Facilities Master Plan and Comprehensive Maintenance Plan,
- PM Mr. Cornell Brown, Assistant Superintendent for Operations, Ms. Patti Jo Beard, Executive
 - F. Director of Facilities Management, Planning & Construction, Mr. Chris Morton, Supervisor of Planning & Construction and Ms. Missy Valentino, Facilities Planner, Planning & Construction

7:55 G. Discussion on Digital Learning, Dr. Sean Bulson, Superintendent of Schools PM

8:15 H. Superintendent's Report

PM

Closing

8:25 PM Future Meetings Review Adjournment

FORTHCOMING MEETINGS

Date	Time	Place	Event
Monday, June 8, 2020	6:30	Harford County Public Schools, A.A. Roberty	Board Business
	PM	Building, Board Room	Meeting
Monday, June 22, 2020	6:30	Harford County Public Schools, A.A. Roberty	Board Business
	PM	Building, Board Room	Meeting
Monday, July 13, 2020	6:30	Harford County Public Schools, A.A. Roberty	Board Business
	PM	Building, Board Room	Meeting
Monday, August 10, 2020	6:30	Harford County Public Schools, A.A. Roberty	Board Business
	PM	Building, Board Room	Meeting

To request disability-related reasonable accommodations, please call 410-838-7300 voice, 7-1-1 TTY or email Communications@hcps.org at least three days prior to the meeting/event. This document is available in alternative form upon request.

The Harford County Public School system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, disability, or age in employment or programs or activities and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. Inquiries regarding HCPS non-discrimination policies should be directed to Paula Stanton, Manager of Equity and Cultural Proficiency, 410-809-6065.

Harford County Board of Education Strategic Plan:

Goal 1: Prepare every student for success in postsecondary education and career.

Goal 2: Engage families and the community to be partners in the education of our students.

Goal 3: Hire and support highly effective staff who are committed to building their own professional capacity in order to increase student achievement.

Goal 4: Provide safe, secure, and healthy learning environments that are conducive to effective teaching and learning, creativity and innovation.

Board business meetings are recorded and aired by Harford Cable Network

Dr. Sean W. Bulson, Superintendent of Schools and Secretary-Treasurer

Jansen M. Robinson, President, Elected Member, Councilmanic District A Rachel Gauthier, Vice-President, Elected Member, Councilmanic District E
Dr. David Bauer, Elected Member, Councilmanic District B
Dr. Joyce Herold, Appointed Member-at-Large
Sonja Karwacki, Elected Member, Councilmanic District F
Dr. Carol L. Mueller, Appointed Member, District C
Dr. Roy Phillips, Appointed Member-at-Large
Patrice J. Ricciardi, Appointed Member-at-Large
Tamera Rush, Elected Member, Councilmanic District D
Christian Walker, Student Board Member

Teri Schmid, Board of Education Administrative Assistant