Board of Education of Harford County

A.A. Roberty Building 102 S. Hickory Avenue, Bel Air, Maryland 21014 Telephone: 410-838-7300 FAX: 410-638-4051 Customer Action Line (24 hours): 410-638-0022 Web Site: http://www.hcps.org

Welcome to the Board Meeting: If you wish to appear before the Board, please complete a request form and place it in the public comment in-box

Please note the following time restrictions for public comments: Three minutes- Individual. Five minutes- Group Representation.

Agenda

Monday, October 28, 2019

Board Open Session - 5:25PM - Board Room

Board Closed Session - 5:30PM - Board Executive Conference Room

Board Business Meeting - 6:30 PM - Board Room

*Times are approximate

6:30 PM Call to Order: Board President

Quorum Roll Call Adoption of Agenda Pledge of Allegiance

6:35 PM Board Committee Reports and Comments

6:50 PM Public Comment

Old Business

Action Item(s):

7:05 PM

- A. Consent Agenda:
 - Contract Award: On-Call HVAC Services
 - 2. <u>Budget Citizen Advisory Committee Approval of Committee Membership</u>
 - Minutes of Previous Board Meeting: October 14,2019
 - Monthly Personnel Report September 2019

New Business

Action Item(s):

7:10 PM

B. <u>Presentation on Comprehensive Annual Financial Report for the Year Ending June 30, 2019</u>, Ms. Deborah Judd, Assistant Superintendent for Business Services, Mr. William Early, Principal, CliftonLarsonAllen, Ms. Alex Lobeck, Manager, CliftonLarsonAllen

Presentation(s):

7:20 PM

C. <u>Presentation on FY2021 Capital Improvement Program,</u> Mr. Cornell Brown, Assistant Superintendent for Operations, Mr. Chris Morton, Supervisor of Planning & Construction, Ms. Missy Valentino, Facilities Planner for Planning & Construction

7:35 PM D.

D. Superintendent's Report

Closing

7:45 PM

Future Meetings Review Adjournment

NOTE: PUBLISHED AGENDAS ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE.

FORTHCOMING MEETINGS

Date	Time	Place	Event
Monday, November 4, 2019	6:30 PM	Harford County Public Schools, A.A. Roberty Building, Board Room	Board Business Meeting

Monday, November 18, 2019	6:30 PM	Harford County Public Schools, A.A. Roberty Building, Board Room	Board Business Meeting
Monday, December 9, 2019	6:30 PM	Harford County Public Schools, A.A. Roberty Building, Board Room	Board Business Meeting
Monday, December 16, 2019	6:30 PM	Harford County Public Schools, A.A. Roberty Building, Board Room	Board Business Meeting
Monday, January 13, 2020	6:30 PM	Harford County Public Schools, A.A. Roberty Building, Board Room	Board Business Meeting
Monday, January 27, 2020	6:30 PM	Harford County Public Schools, A.A. Roberty Building, Board Room	Board Business Meeting

To request disability-related reasonable accommodations, please call 410-838-7300 voice, 7-1-1 TTY or e-mail Communications@hcps.org at least three days prior to the meeting/event. This document is available in alternative form upon request.

The Harford County Public School system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, disability, or age in employment or programs or activities and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. Inquiries regarding HCPS non-discrimination policies should be directed to Paula Stanton, Supervisor of Equity and Cultural Proficiency, 410-809-6065.

Harford County Board of Education Strategic Plan:

Goal 1: To prepare every student for success in postsecondary education and career.

Goal 2: To encourage and monitor engagement between the school system and the community to support student achievement.

Goal 3: To hire and support skilled staff who are committed to increasing student achievement.

Goal 4: To provide safe, secure, and healthy learning environments that are conducive to effective teaching and learning.

Board business meetings are recorded and aired by Harford Cable Network

Dr. Sean W. Bulson, Superintendent of Schools and Secretary-Treasurer

Jansen M. Robinson, President, Elected Member, Councilmanic District A Rachel Gauthier, Vice-President, Elected Member, Councilmanic District E Dr. David Bauer, Elected Member, Councilmanic District B Kathryn Carmello, Elected Member, Councilmanic District C Dr. Joyce Herold, Appointed Member-at-Large Sonja Karwacki, Elected Member, Councilmanic District F Dr. Roy Phillips, Appointed Member-at-Large Patrice J. Ricciardi, Appointed Member-at-Large Tamera Rush, Elected Member, Councilmanic District D Christian Walker, Student Board Member

Teri Schmid, Board of Education Administrative Assistant