

Board of Education of Harford County

A.A. Roberty Building 102 S. Hickory Avenue, Bel Air, Maryland 21014 Telephone: 410-838-7300 FAX: 410-638-4051 Customer Action Line (24 hours): 410-638-0022 Web Site: http://www.hcps.org

Welcome to the Board Meeting: If you wish to appear before the Board, please complete a request form and place it in the public comment in-box **BEFORE THE MEETING BEGINS.**

Please note the following time restrictions for public comments: Three minutes- Individual. Five minutes- Group Representation.

Agenda

Monday, April 8, 2019

Board Open Session - 5:40 PM - Board Room

Board Closed Session - 5:45 PM - Board Executive Conference Room

Board Business Meeting - 6:30 PM - Board Room

*Times are approximate

6:30 PM Call to Order: Board President

Quorum Roll Call Adoption of Agenda Pledge of Allegiance

6:35 PM Board Recognition: Winter 2018-2019 HCPS MPSSAA State Winners &

Sportsmanship

6:45 PM Discussion on FY2020 Budget Options, Superintendent Bulson, Deborah Judd,

Assistant Superintendent for Business Services, Eric Clark, Director of Budget,

Mary Edmunds, Budget Analyst

7:15 PM Public Comment

7:25 PM Board Member Comments

Old Business

Action Item(s):

7:40 PM A. Consent Agenda:

- Decision on Contract Award: Elevator and Chair Lift Maintenance and Services
- 2) Decision on Contract Award: Gasoline and Diesel Fuel
- Decision on Contract Award: Independent Financial Audit Firm -CliftonLarsonAllen, LLP
- 4) Minutes of Previous Board Meeting: March 25, 2019
- 5) Monthly Personnel Report: March 2019
- 6) Non-Renewal Recommendations: April 2019

New Business

Presentation(s):

7:45 PM B. Presentation on HCPS Board of Education Policies, Patrick P. Spicer, Esq.

- Decision on:
 - Ethics Policy No. 12-0001-000
- Recommendations on:
 - Use of Tobacco Products Policy No. 20-0040-000
 - Participation in Extra-Curricular Activities Policy No. 02-0010-000
 - Student Insurance Policy No. 02-0023-000

8:00 PM C. Superintendent's Report

Closing

8:10 PM Future Meetings Review

Adjournment

NOTE: PUBLISHED AGENDAS ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE.

FORTHCOMING MEETINGS

Date	Time	Place	Event
Monday, May 6, 2019	6:30 PM		Board Business Meeting
Monday, May 20, 2019	6:30 PM		Board Business Meeting
Monday, June 10, 2019	6:30 PM		Board Business Meeting
Monday, June 24, 2019	6:30 PM		Board Business Meeting
Monday, July 15, 2019	6:30 PM	, , ,	Board Business Meeting
Monday, August 12, 2019	6:30 PM	, , ,	Board Business Meeting

To request disability-related reasonable accommodations, please call 410-838-7300 voice, 7-1-1 TTY or e-mail Communications@hcps.org at least three days prior to the meeting/event. This document is available in alternative form upon request.

The Harford County Public School system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, disability, or age in employment or programs or activities and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. Inquiries regarding HCPS non-discrimination policies should be directed to Laurie Namey, Supervisor of Equity and Cultural Proficiency, 410-809-6065.

Harford County Board of Education Strategic Plan:

Goal 1: To prepare every student for success in postsecondary education and career.

Goal 2: To encourage and monitor engagement between the school system and the community to support student achievement.

Goal 3: To hire and support skilled staff who are committed to increasing student achievement.

Goal 4: To provide safe, secure, and healthy learning environments that are conducive to effective teaching and learning.

Board business meetings are recorded and aired by Harford Cable Network

Joseph L. Voskuhl, President, Elected Member, Councilmanic District C Laura S. Runyeon, Vice-President, Appointed Member-at-Large Dr. Sean W. Bulson, Superintendent of Schools and Secretary-Treasurer Thomas F. Fitzpatrick, Elected Member, Councilmanic District F Robert L. Frisch, Elected Member, Councilmanic District B Rachel Gauthier, Elected Member, Councilmanic District E Joseph A. Hau, Appointed Member-at-Large Nancy Reynolds, Elected Member, Councilmanic District D Jansen M. Robinson, Elected Member, Councilmanic District A Alfred L. Williamson, Appointed Member-at-Large Joshua Oltarzewski, Student Board Member

Teri Schmid, Board of Education Administrative Assistant

Print Friendly Version

