Board of Education of Harford County

A.A. Roberty Building 102 S. Hickory Avenue, Bel Air, Maryland 21014 Telephone: 410-838-7300 FAX: 410-638-4051 Customer Action Line (24 hours): 410-638-0022 Web Site: http://www.hcps.org

Welcome to the Board Meeting: If you wish to appear before the Board, please complete a request form and place it in the public comment in-box **BEFORE THE MEETING BEGINS.**

Please note the following time restrictions for public comments: Three minutes- Individual. Five minutes- Group Representation.

Agenda Monday, March 12, 2018

Board Business Meeting 6:30 PM - Board Room

**Times are approximate*

6:30 PM Call to Order: Board President

> Quorum Roll Call Adoption of Agenda Pledge of Allegiance

6:35 PM Board Member Comments

6:50 PM Public Comment

Old Business

Action Item(s): 7:05 PM

A. Consent Agenda:

1) Affirmation of Monthly Contracts - February 2018

2) Decision on School/Organization Sponsored Project - Homestead-Wakefield Elementary School Bioretention Retrofit 3) Minutes of Previous Board Meeting - February 26, 2018

New Business

Action Item(s):

7:10 PM B. Decision on Transfer of Funds Between Capital Projects, Ms. Deborah Judd, Assistant Superintendent for Business Services

Presentation(s):

- 7:30 PM Recommendation on HCPS Board of Education Policies, Patrick P. Spicer, Esq.
 - Student Property Search and Seizure by Police Officers Policy No. 02-0018-000
 - Arrest and/or Questioning of Students on School Premises Policy No. 02-0019-000
 - C. Rights of Students Seeking to Overcome Drug Addiction Policy No. 02-0020-000
 - Participation of Students in General Elections Policy No. 02-0015-000
 - Student Lockers Policy No. 02-0016-000
 - Parking Privileges Policy No. 02-0017-000
 - Ethics Policy No. 12-0001-000

7:50 PM D. Superintendent's Report

Closing

8:00 PM Future Meetings Review Adjournment

NOTE: PUBLISHED AGENDAS ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE.

FORTHCOMING MEETINGS

Date	Time	Place	Event
Monday, March 26, 2018	6:30	Harford County Public Schools, A.A. Roberty	Board Business
	PM	Building, Board Room	Meeting
Monday, April 9, 2018	6:30	Harford County Public Schools, A.A. Roberty	Board Business
	PM	Building, Board Room	Meeting
Monday, April 23, 2018	6:30	Harford County Public Schools, A.A. Roberty	Board Business

	PM	Building, Board Room	Meeting
Monday, May 7, 2018	6:30	Harford County Public Schools, A.A. Roberty	Board Business
	PM	Building, Board Room	Meeting
Monday, May 14, 2018	6:30	Harford County Public Schools, A.A. Roberty	Board Business
	PM	Building, Board Room	Meeting
Monday, June 11, 2018	6:30	Harford County Public Schools, A.A. Roberty	Board Business
	PM	Building, Board Room	Meeting

To request disability-related reasonable accommodations, please call 410-838-7300 voice, 7-1-1 TTY or email Communications@hcps.org at least three days prior to the meeting/event. This document is available in alternative form upon request.

The Harford County Public School system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, disability, or age in employment or programs or activities and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. Inquiries regarding HCPS non-discrimination policies should be directed to Laurie Namey, Supervisor of Equity and Cultural Proficiency, 410-809-6065.

Harford County Board of Education Strategic Plan:

Goal 1: To prepare every student for success in postsecondary education and career.

Goal 2: To encourage and monitor engagement between the school system and the community to support student achievement.

Goal 3: To hire and support skilled staff who are committed to increasing student achievement. **Goal 4:** To provide safe, secure, and healthy learning environments that are conducive to effective teaching and learning.

Board business meetings are recorded and aired by Harford Cable Network

Joseph L. Voskuhl, President, Elected Member, Councilmanic District C Laura S. Runyeon, Vice-President, Appointed Member-at-Large Barbara P. Canavan, Superintendent of Schools and Secretary-Treasurer

Thomas F. Fitzpatrick, Elected Member, Councilmanic District F
Robert L. Frisch, Elected Member, Councilmanic District B
Rachel Gauthier, Elected Member, Councilmanic District E
Joseph A. Hau, Appointed Member-at-Large
Nancy Reynolds, Elected Member, Councilmanic District D
Jansen M. Robinson, Elected Member, Councilmanic District A
Alfred L. Williamson, Appointed Member-at-Large
Matt E. Resnik, Student Board Member

Teri Schmid, Board of Education Administrative Assistant