# **Board of Education of Harford County**

A.A. Roberty Building 102 S. Hickory Avenue, Bel Air, Maryland 21014 Telephone: 410-838-7300 FAX: 410-638-4051 Customer Action Line (24 hours): 410-638-0022 Web Site: http://www.hcps.org

Welcome to the Board Meeting: If you wish to appear before the Board, please complete a request form and place it in the public comment in-box **BEFORE THE MEETING BEGINS.** 

Please note the following time restrictions for public comments: Three minutes- Individual. Five minutes- Group Representation.

## Agenda

Monday, October 9, 2017

Board Business Meeting 6:30 PM - Board Room

\*Times are approximate

6:30 PM Call to Order: Board President

Quorum Roll Call Adoption of Agenda Pledge of Allegiance

6:35 PM Board Committee Reports and Comments

6:50 PM Public Comment

## **New Business**

#### Presentation(s):

6:55 PM Presentation on 2018-19 Proposed Calendar, Ms. Jillian Lader, Manager of Communications

A.

- Board Informational Report
- 2018-19 Proposed Calendar
- 2018-19 Calendar Committee Members
- 7:15 PM B. Presentation on Use of Facilities, Mr. Cornell Brown, Assistant Superintendent of Operations
  - Board Informational Report

• PowerPoint Presentation

## 7:35 PM C. Superintendent's Report

## **Closing**

7:45 PM Future Meetings Review Adjournment

### NOTE: PUBLISHED AGENDAS ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE.

\_\_\_\_\_\_

### FORTHCOMING MEETINGS

| Date                      | Time | Place                                       | Event          |
|---------------------------|------|---|----------------|
| Monday, October 23, 2017  | 6:30 | Harford County Public Schools, A.A. Roberty | Board Business |
|                           | PM   | Building, Board Room                        | Meeting        |
| Monday, November 6, 2017  | 6:30 | Harford County Public Schools, A.A. Roberty | Board Business |
|                           | PM   | Building, Board Room                        | Meeting        |
| Monday, November 13, 2017 | 6:30 | Harford County Public Schools, A.A. Roberty | Board Business |
|                           | PM   | Building, Board Room                        | Meeting        |
| Monday, December 4, 2017  | 6:30 | Harford County Public Schools, A.A. Roberty | Board Business |
|                           | PM   | Building, Board Room                        | Meeting        |
| Monday, December 18, 2017 | 6:30 | Harford County Public Schools, A.A. Roberty | Board Business |
|                           | PM   | Building, Board Room                        | Meeting        |
| Monday, January 8, 2018   | 6:30 | Harford County Public Schools, A.A. Roberty | Board Business |
|                           | PM   | Building, Board Room                        | Meeting        |

To request disability-related reasonable accommodations, please call 410-838-7300 voice, 7-1-1 TTY or e-mail Communications@hcps.org at least three days prior to the meeting/event. This document is available in alternative form upon request.

The Harford County Public School system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, disability, or age in employment or programs or activities and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. Inquiries regarding HCPS non-discrimination policies should be directed to Laurie Namey, Supervisor of Equity and Cultural Proficiency, 410-809-6065.

#### **Harford County Board of Education Strategic Plan:**

Goal 2: To encourage and monitor engagement between the school system and the community to support student achievement.

**Goal 3:** To hire and support skilled staff who are committed to increasing student achievement.

Goal 4: To provide safe, secure, and healthy learning environments that are conducive to effective teaching and learning.

### Board business meetings are recorded and aired by Harford Cable Network

Joseph L. Voskuhl, President, Elected Member, Councilmanic District C Laura S. Runyeon, Vice-President, Appointed Member-at-Large

Patrick Spicer, Board Attorney Joseph A. Hau, Appointed Member-at-Large

Robert L. Frisch, Elected Member, Councilmanic Matt E. Resnik, Student Board Member

District B

Rachel Gauthier, Elected Member, Councilmanic Thomas F. Fitzpatrick, Elected Member, Councilmanic

District E District F

Alfred L. Williamson, Appointed Member-at-Jansen M. Robinson, Elected Member, Councilmanic District A

Large

Nancy Reynolds, Elected Member, Councilmanic District D

> Barbara P. Canavan, Superintendent of Schools and Secretary-Treasurer Teri L. Schmid, Board of Education Administrative Assistant