Board of Education of Harford County

A.A. Roberty Building 102 S. Hickory Avenue, Bel Air, Maryland 21014 Telephone: 410-838-7300 FAX: 410-638-4051 Customer Action Line (24 hours): 410-638-0022 Web Site: http://www.hcps.org

Welcome to the Board Meeting: If you wish to appear before the Board, please complete a request form and place it in the public comment in-box **BEFORE THE MEETING BEGINS.** Please note the following time restrictions for public comments: Three minutes- Individual. Five minutes- Group Representation.

Agenda

Monday, June 12, 2017

Board Open Session -	5:40 PM - Board Room				
Board Closed Session -	5:45 PM - Board Executive Conference Room				
Board Work Session -	6:00 PM - Board Room				
Board Business Meeting - 6:30 PM - Board Room					

*Times are approximate

6:30 PM	Call to Order: Board President		
	Quorum Roll Call		
	Adoption of Agenda		
	Pledge of Allegiance		
6:35 PM	Board Recognitions:		
	MPSSAA State Winners and Sportsmanship Awards		
	Destination Imagination Global Tournament Placers		
	Growing Exceptional Teachers Program 2017 Scholarship Recipients		
	• Partners in Education: Working Together to Enhance the Teaching of Latin America - Peru 2017		
	• Maura Viehl, Southampton Middle School		
	Central Maryland Homeland Security Educational Alliance's Best in Homeland Security Education Award		
	 Zachary Lovelace, Joppatowne High School 		

- 6:55 PM Board Committee Reports and Comments
- 7:05 PM Public Comments

Old Business

Action Item(s): 7:20 PM A. Consent Agenda:

- 1) Decision on School/Organization Sponsored Project: Havre de Grace Middle School Lilly Run Stream Restoration
 - Board Informational Report
 - Proposed Sponsored Project -Final Submission
 - Letter of Support
- 2) Minutes of Previous Board Meeting: May 22, 2017

New Business

Action Item(s):

- 7:25 PM B. Decision on Appointments and Promotions Supervisor of Elementary/Middle School Physical Education, Health Education, and PK 12 Adapted Physical Education, Mrs. Jean Mantegna, Assistant Superintendent for Human Resources
- 7:30 PM C. Decision on Board of Education's FY2018 Amended Unrestricted, Restricted, Capital and Food Service Budgets, Ms. Deborah Judd, Assistant Superintendent of Business Services, Mr. Eric Clark, Director of Budget, Ms. Mary Edmunds, Budget Specialist, Ms. Michele Sledge, Capital Budget Analyst

Presentation(s):

7:50 PM D. Superintendent's Report

Closing

8:00 PM Future Meetings Review Adjournment

NOTE: PUBLISHED AGENDAS ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE.

FORTHCOMING MEETINGS

Date	Time	Place	Event
Monday, June 26, 2017	6:30 PM	Harford County Public Schools, A.A. Roberty Building, Board Room	Board Business Meeting
Monday, July 17, 2017	6:30 PM	Harford County Public Schools, A.A. Roberty Building, Board Room	Board Business Meeting
Monday, August 14, 2017	6:30 PM	Harford County Public Schools, A.A. Roberty Building, Board Room	Board Business Meeting

To request disability-related reasonable accommodations, please call 410-838-7300 voice, 7-1-1 TTY or e-mail Communications@hcps.org at least three days prior to the meeting/event. This document is available in alternative form upon request.

The Harford County Public School system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, disability, or age in employment or programs or activities and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. Inquiries regarding HCPS non-discrimination policies should be directed to Laurie Namey, Supervisor of Equity and Cultural Proficiency, 410-809-6065.

Harford County Board of Education Strategic Plan:

Goal 1: To prepare every student for success in postsecondary education and career.

Goal 2: To encourage and monitor engagement between the school system and the community to support student achievement.

Goal 3: To hire and support skilled staff who are committed to increasing student achievement.

Goal 4: To provide safe, secure, and healthy learning environments that are conducive to effective teaching and learning.

Board business meetings are recorded and aired by Harford Cable Network

Nancy Reynolds, President, Elected Member, Councilmanic District D

 Joseph A. Hau, Appointed Member-at-Large
 Jansen M. Robinson, Elected Member, Councilmanic District A

 Joseph L. Voskuhl, Elected Member, Councilmanic District C
 Rachel Gauthier, Elected Member, Councilmanic District E

 Thomas F. Fitzpatrick, Elected Member, Councilmanic District F
 Laura S. Runyeon, Appointed Member-at-Large

Alfred L. Williamson, Appointed Member-at-Large Patrick Spicer, Board Attorney

Robert L. Frisch, Elected Member, Councilmanic District B Amanda N. Dorsey, Student Board Member

Barbara P. Canavan, Superintendent of Schools and Secretary-Treasurer Teri L. Schmid, Board of Education Administrative Assistant