Board of Education of Harford County

A.A. Roberty Building 102 S. Hickory Avenue, Bel Air, Maryland 21014 Telephone: 410-838-7300 FAX: 410-638-4051 Customer Action Line (24 hours): 410-638-0022 Web Site: http://www.hcps.org

Welcome to the Board Meeting: If you wish to appear before the Board, please complete a request form and place it in the public comment in-box **BEFORE THE MEETING BEGINS.**

Please note the following time restrictions for public comments: Three minutes- Individual. Five minutes- Group Representation.

Agenda

Monday, May 22, 2017

Board Open Session - 5:25 PM - Board Room

Board Closed Session - 5:30 PM - Board Executive Conference

Board Business Meeting 6:30 PM - Board Room

*Times are approximate

6:30 PM Call to Order: Board President

Quorum Roll Call Adoption of Agenda Pledge of Allegiance

6:35 PM Board Recognitions

- Superintendent's 2017 Student Advisory Council
- Maryland 2017 School Nurse of the Year

6:40 PM Board Committee Reports and Comments

6:50 PM Public Comment

Old Business

Action Item(s):

7:05 PM A. Consent Agenda:

1) Monthly Report on Personnel - April 2017 2) Award of Contract: English Resources for Middle Schools Grades 6 and 7 Award of Contract: Therapy Service Providers for the Department of Special 4) Award of Contract: Decision on Transfer of School Bus Routes (County to Cleary) 5) Award of Contract - Transfer of School Bus Routes (McGuire to Davis) Minutes of Previous Board Meeting: May 8,2017 **New Business** Action Item(s): 7:10 Decision on Administrative and Supervisory Appointments and Promotions - Principal, AP 12-PM B. Month and Instructional Facilitator Pools, Mr. Benjamin Richardson, Senior Manager of Human Resources 7:20 Decision on Transfers Between State Categories for the FY2917 Budget, Ms. Deborah Judd, PM Assistant Superintendent for Business Services and Mr. Eric Clark, Directory of Budget for C. Business Services Presentation(s): 7:35 Presentation on Quarterly Financial Report for the Period Ending March 31, 2017, Ms. Debora PM Judd, Assistant Superintendent for Business Services Presentation on Absence Management, Mr. Jeff Fradel, Senior Manager of Staff and Labor 7:50 PM Relations and Ms. Cathy Bendis, Human Relations Specialist

Closing

8:00 PM Future Meetings Review Adjournment

NOTE: PUBLISHED AGENDAS ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE.

FORTHCOMING MEETINGS

Date	Time	Place	Event
Monday, June 12, 2017	6:30	Harford County Public Schools, A.A. Roberty	Board Business
	PM	Building, Board Room	Meeting
Monday, June 26, 2017	6:30	Harford County Public Schools, A.A. Roberty	Board Business
	PM	Building, Board Room	Meeting
Monday, July 17, 2017	6:30	Harford County Public Schools, A.A. Roberty	Board Business
	PM	Building, Board Room	Meeting
Monday, August 14, 2017	6:30	Harford County Public Schools, A.A. Roberty	Board Business
	PM	Building, Board Room	Meeting

To request disability-related reasonable accommodations, please call 410-838-7300 voice, 7-1-1 TTY or e-mail Communications@hcps.org at least three days prior to the meeting/event. This document is available in alternative form upon request.

The Harford County Public School system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, disability, or age in employment or programs or activities and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. Inquiries regarding HCPS non-discrimination policies should be directed to Laurie Namey, Supervisor of Equity and Cultural Proficiency, 410-809-6065.

Harford County Board of Education Strategic Plan:

Goal 1: To prepare every student for success in postsecondary education and career.

Goal 2: To encourage and monitor engagement between the school system and the community to support student achievement.

Goal 3: To hire and support skilled staff who are committed to increasing student achievement.

Goal 4: To provide safe, secure, and healthy learning environments that are conducive to effective teaching and learning.

Board business meetings are recorded and aired by Harford Cable Network

Joseph A. Hau, Appointed Member-at-Large	Jansen M. Robinson, Elected Member, Councilmanic District A
Joseph L. Voskuhl, Elected Member, Councilmanic District C	Rachel Gauthier, Elected Member, Councilmanic District E
Thomas F. Fitzpatrick, Elected Member, Councilmanic District F	Laura S. Runyeon, Appointed Member-at-Large
Alfred L. Williamson, Appointed Member-at-Large	Robert L. Frisch, Elected Member, Councilmanic District B
Patrick Spicer, Board Attorney	Amanda N. Dorsey, Student Board Member

Barbara P. Canavan, Superintendent of Schools and Secretary-Treasurer Teri L. Schmid, Board of Education Administrative Assistant