Board of Education of Harford County

A.A. Roberty Building 102 S. Hickory Avenue, Bel Air, Maryland 21014 Telephone: 410-838-7300 FAX: 410-638-4051 Customer Action Line (24 hours): 410-638-0022 Web Site: http://www.hcps.org

Welcome to the Board Meeting: If you wish to appear before the Board, please complete a request form and place it in the public comment in-box **BEFORE THE MEETING BEGINS.**

Please note the following time restrictions for public comments: Three minutes- Individual. Five minutes- Group Representation.

Agenda

Monday, May 23, 2016

Board Open Session - 5:25 PM - Board Room

Board Closed Session - 5:30 PM - Board Executive Conference

Board Business Meeting 6:30 PM - Board Room

*Times are approximate

6:30 PM Call to Order: Mrs. Nancy Reynolds, Board President

Quorum Roll Call Adoption of Agenda Pledge of Allegiance

6:35 PM Board Recognitions:

- Superintendent's 2016 Student Advisory Council
- Abingdon Elementary School Staff
- Mrs. Susan Garrett, Career and Technology Education Outstanding Secondary Distinguished Service Award

6:50 PM Board Committee Reports and Comments

7:05 PM Public Comment

Old Business

Action Item(s):

7:20 PM A. Consent Agenda:

FORTHCOMING MEETINGS			
	NOTE: PUBLISHED AGENDAS ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE.		
Closing 8:00 PM	Future Meetings Review Adjournment		
7:50 PM	D. Superintendent's Report		
Presentat	ion(s):		
7:35 PM	C. Decision on Transfers Between State Categories for the FY16 Budget, Mrs. Deborah Judd, Mr. Eric Clark		
Action Ite			
New Bu	siness		
6) Appoi	ntment of Membership To Board Sponsored Citizen Advisory Committees		
5) Contr	ract Award for itsLearning Annual Maintenance Agreement		
4) Contra Eleme	act Award: Roof Structure and Mechanical System Rebuild at North Bend ntary School		
3) Min	utes of Previous Board Meeting: May 9, 2016		
2) A	ffirmation of Monthly Contracts		
1) N	Monthly Report on Personnel		

Date	Time	Place	Event
Monday, June 13, 2016	6:30	Harford County Public Schools, A.A. Roberty	Board Business
	PM	Building, Board Room	Meeting
Monday, June 27, 2016	6:30	Harford County Public Schools, A.A. Roberty	Board Business
	PM	Building, Board Room	Meeting
Monday, July 18, 2016	6:30	Harford County Public Schools, A.A. Roberty	Board Business
	PM	Building, Board Room	Meeting
Monday, August 15, 2016	6:30	Harford County Public Schools, A.A. Roberty	Board Business
	PM	Building, Board Room	Meeting

To request disability-related reasonable accommodations, please call 410-838-7300 voice, 7-1-1 TTY or e-mail Communications@hcps.org at least three days prior to the meeting/event. This document is available in alternative form upon request.

The Harford County Public School system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, disability, or age in employment or programs or activities and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. Inquiries regarding HCPS non-discrimination policies should be directed to Laurie Namey, Supervisor of Equity and Cultural Proficiency, 410-809-6065.

Harford County Board of Education Strategic Plan:

Goal 1: To prepare every student for success in postsecondary education and career.

Goal 2: To encourage and monitor engagement between the school system and the community to support student achievement.

Goal 3: To hire and support skilled staff who are committed to increasing student achievement.

Goal 4: To provide safe, secure, and healthy learning environments that are conducive to effective teaching and learning.

Board business meetings are recorded and aired by Harford Cable Network

Nancy Reynolds, President, Elected Member, Councilmanic District D

Joseph A. Hau, Appointed Member-at-Large

Jansen M. Robinson, Elected Member,
Councilmanic District A

Joseph L. Voskuhl, Elected Member, CouncilmanicDistrict CRachel Gauthier, Elected Member, CouncilmanicDistrict E

Thomas F. Fitzpatrick, Elected Member, Councilmanic District F **Laura S. Runyeon,** Appointed Member-at-Large

Alfred L. Williamson, Appointed Member-at-Large Genae Hatcher, Student Representative

Robert L. Frisch, Elected Member, Councilmanic District B

Patrick Spicer, Board Attorney

Barbara P. Canavan, Superintendent of Schools and Secretary-Treasurer Teri L. Schmid, Board of Education Administrative Assistant