

Board of Education of Harford County

A.A. Roberty Building
102 S. Hickory Avenue, Bel Air, Maryland 21014
Telephone: 410-838-7300 FAX: 410-638-4051
Customer Action Line (24 hours): 410-638-0022
Web Site: http://www.hcps.org

Welcome to the Board Meeting: If you wish to appear before the Board, please complete a request form and place it in the public comment in-box **BEFORE THE MEETING BEGINS.**

Please note the following time restrictions for public comments: Three minutes- Individual. Five minutes- Group Representation.

Agenda

Monday, March 21, 2016

Board Open Session - 6:10 PM - Board Room

Board Closed Session - 6:15 pm - Board Executive Conference Room

Board Business Meeting - 6:30 PM - Board Room

*Times are approximate

6:30 PM Call to Order: Mrs. Nancy Reynolds, Board President

Quorum Roll Call Adoption of Agenda Pledge of Allegiance

6:35 PM Recognitions:

- Middle States Council for the Social Studies Awards
 - Alexandra Greenwood, Fallston Middle School
 - Sondra Bender, Bakerfield Elementary School
- Maryland State Advisory Council on Gifted and Talented Education Awards
 - Verna Hiser, Meadowvale Elementary & Hickory Elementary
 - Tara Recor, Edgewood Elementary & Prospect Mill Elementary
- Certificate of Achievement for Excellence in Financial Reporting & Distinguished Budget Presentation Award - On Behalf of the Budget and Finance Departments:
 - Mr. Jay Staab, Director of Finance
 - Mr. Eric Clark, Director of Budget
 - Mrs. Margaret Palmer, Accounting Specialist

6:50 PM Board Committee Reports and Comments

7:00 PM Public Comment

Old Business

1 of 3

Action Item(s):

7:15 PM

- A. Consent Agenda:
 - 1) Award of Contract: Rebuild of the Hickory Annex Receiving Building
 - 2) Monthly Report on Personnel
 - 3) Minutes of Previous Board Meeting: March 7, 2016

New Business

Action Item(s):

7:20 PM

B. Decision on Administrative and Supervisory Appointments, Mrs. Jean Mantegna, Assistant Superintendent Human Resources

7:25 PM

C. Decision on Approval of Life Insurance and Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance, Mrs. Jean Mantegna, Assistant Superintendent for Human Resources, Mr. Jeff LaPorta, Purchasing Supervisor, Ms. Denise Semenkow, Purchasing Agent

7:40 PM

D. Decision on Approval of Supplemental Appropriation for Premium Holiday and OPEB Transfer for the FY2016 Budget, Mr. Jay Staab, Director of Finance, Mr. Eric Clark, Director of Budget

Presentation(s):

7:55 PM E. Superintendent's Report

Closing

8:05 PM

Future Meetings Review Adjournment

NOTE: PUBLISHED AGENDAS ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE.

FORTHCOMING MEETINGS

Date	Time	Place	Event
Monday, April 11, 2016	6:30 PM	Harford County Public Schools, A.A. Roberty Building, Board Room	Board Business Meeting
Monday, April 25, 2016	6:30 PM	Harford County Public Schools, A.A. Roberty Building, Board Room	Board Business Meeting
Monday, May 9, 2016	6:30 PM	Harford County Public Schools, A.A. Roberty Building, Board Room	Board Business Meeting
Monday, May 23, 2016	6:30 PM	Harford County Public Schools, A.A. Roberty Building, Board Room	Board Business Meeting
Monday, June 13, 2016	6:30 PM	Harford County Public Schools, A.A. Roberty Building, Board Room	Board Business Meeting
Monday, June 27, 2016	6:30 PM	Harford County Public Schools, A.A. Roberty Building, Board Room	Board Business Meeting

To request disability-related reasonable accommodations, please call 410-838-7300 voice, 7-1-1 TTY or e-mail Communications@hcps.org at least three days prior to the meeting/event. This document is available in alternative form upon request.

The Harford County Public School system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, disability, or age in employment or programs or activities and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. Inquiries regarding HCPS non-discrimination policies should be directed to Laurie Namey, Supervisor of Equity and Cultural Proficiency, 410-809-6065.

Harford County Board of Education Strategic Plan:

2 of 3 3/21/2016 8:34 PM

Goal 1: To prepare every student for success in postsecondary education and career.

Goal 2: To encourage and monitor engagement between the school system and the community to support student achievement.

Goal 3: To hire and support skilled staff who are committed to increasing student achievement.

Goal 4: To provide safe, secure, and healthy learning environments that are conducive to effective teaching and learning.

Board business meetings are recorded and aired by Harford Cable Network

Nancy Reynolds, President, Elected Member, Councilmanic District D

Joseph A. Hau, Appointed Member-at-Large

Joseph L. Voskuhl, Elected Member, Councilmanic District C

Thomas E Fitznatrick Flected Member

Thomas F. Fitzpatrick, Elected Member, Councilmanic District F

Alfred L. Williamson, Appointed Memberat-Large

Robert L. Frisch, Elected Member, Councilmanic District B

Jansen M. Robinson, Elected Member,

Councilmanic District A

Rachel Gauthier, Elected Member, Councilmanic District E

Laura S. Runyeon, Appointed Member-at-Large

Genae Hatcher, Student Representative

Patrick Spicer, Board Attorney

Barbara P. Canavan, Superintendent of Schools and Secretary-Treasurer **Teri L. Schmid**, Board of Education Administrative Assistant

Print Friendly Version



3 of 3 3/21/2016 8:34 PM