Board of Education of Harford County Agenda Monday, February 12, 2024

Board Open Session:4:30 PM -Board RoomBoard Closed Session:4:35 PM -Board Executive Conference RoomBoard Business Meeting:6:00 PM -Board Room

*Times are approximate

6:00 PM		Call to Order: Board President
		Quorum Roll Call
		Adoption of Agenda
		Pledge of Allegiance
6:05 PM	A.	Student Performance In Honor of Black History Month
		 Miss Khania Charlton, Havre de Grace Student
6:15 PM		Board Member Comments
6:30 PM		Public Comments
7:15 PM		Old Business
		1. Decision on Previously Tabled: Minutes of Previous Board Meetings November 20, 2023, December 4, 2023, and December 18, 2023
7:20 PM	В.	Recognition - Resolution for Service on the Ethics Panel of the Harford County Board of Education

• Francis "Frank" P. King, Esquire

7:25 PM C. Consent Agenda

1. Contract Award: Playground Equipment, Assessments and Inspections

- 2. Contract Award: Educational School Supplies
- 3. Contract Award: Benefits Enrollment Services

		4. Contract Award: Care Solace, Inc.
		5. Contract Award: Ford Transit Vehicles and Bronco with Trade-Ins
		6. Contract Award: Modular Classroom for Various HCPS Locations
7:30 PM		Meeting Break
7:40 PM		New Business
7:45 PM	D.	Presentation on Middle School Innovation, Mr. Mike O'Brien, Executive Director of Middle & High School Performance and Ms. Natalie Holloway, Director of Middle School Innovation • Middle School Innovation Board Presentation
8:05 PM	E.	Decision on Superintendent's Proposed FY2025 Budget, Ms. Deborah Judd, Assistant Superintendent for Business Services, Mr. Eric Clark, Director of Budget, and Ms. Mary Edmunds, Budget Analyst
8:35 PM	F.	 Discussion on Proposed Changes to Board Policy 04-0020-000, Controversial Issues, Dr. Aaron Poynton, Board President Existing Controversial Issues Policy Proposed Updated Controversial Issues Policy
8:50 PM	G.	 Discussion on Proposed Revisions to Board Policy Portable Communication Devices, Dr. Aaron Poynton, Board President Existing Policy 0005-000 Portable Communication Devices Proposed Updated Policy 0005-000 Portable Communication Devices
9:05 PM	Н.	Superintendent's Report
9:15 PM		Future Meetings Review Adjournment

NOTE: PUBLISHED AGENDAS ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE.

To request disability-related reasonable accommodations, please call 410-838-7300 voice, 7-1-1 TTY or e-mail Communications@hcps.org at least three days prior to the meeting/event. This document is available in alternative form upon request.

The Harford County Public School system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, disability, or age in employment or programs or activities and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. Inquiries regarding HCPS non-discrimination policies should be directed to Paula Stanton, Manager of Equity and Cultural Proficiency, 410-809-6065.

Harford County Board of Education Strategic Plan:

Goal 1: Prepare every student for success in postsecondary education and career.

Goal 2: Engage families and the community to be partners in the education of our students.

Goal 3: Hire and support highly effective staff who are committed to building their own professional capacity in order to increase student achievement.

Goal 4: Provide safe, secure, and healthy learning environments that are conducive to effective teaching and learning, creativity and innovation.

Board business meetings are recorded and aired by Harford Cable Network

Dr. Sean W. Bulson, Superintendent of Schools and Secretary-Treasurer

Dr. Aaron Poynton, President, Appointed Member-at-Large Melissa L. Hahn, Vice-President, Elected Member, Councilmanic District D Diane M. Alvarez, Elected Member, Councilmanic District F Carol P. Bruce, Elected Member, Councilmanic District E Terri Kocher, Appointed Member-at-Large Dr. Carol L. Mueller, Elected Member, Councilmanic District C Denise E. Perry, Elected Member, Councilmanic District A Madina A. Sabirova, Student Board Member Wade A. Sewell, Elected Member, Councilmanic District B Lauren Paige Strauss, Appointed Member-at-Large

Yvonne Rallo, Board of Education Administrative Support Coordinator