## Board of Education of Harford County Agenda

Monday, May 8, 2023

Board Open Session: 5:30 PM - Board Room

Board Closed Session: 5:35 PM - Board Executive Conference Room

Board Business Meeting: 6:30 PM - Board Room

6:30 PM		Call to Order: Board President	
		Quorum Roll Call Adoption of Agenda Pledge of Allegiance	
5:35 PM	A.	Board Member Comments	
6:50 PM	B.	Consent Agenda	
		Contract Award: Modular Classroom Building for Riverside Elementary School	
		2. Contract Award: Fencing Installation at Emmorton and George D. Lisby Elementary Schools	
		3. Contract Award: Project Management Services	
		4. Contract Award: Asset Lease Return	
		5. Contract Award: Student Laptop Lease	
		6. Contract Award: Network Switch Refresh	
		7. Contract Award: HVAC / Refrigeration Equipment and Parts	
		8. Contract Award: Uninterruptible Power Supply Refresh	
		9. Contract Award: Gutter Replacement at Fallston Middle School	
		10. Contract Award: Network Firewall Refresh	
5:55 PM	C.	Decision on Administrative and Supervisory Appointments, Mr. Ben Richardson, Assistant Superintendent for Human Resources	
::10 PM	D.	Decision on Expansion of Middle School Writing Curriculum, Ms. Heather Kutcher, Executive Director of Curriculum, Instruction, & Assessment and Mr. Andrew Renzulli, Director of Curriculum, Instruction, & Assessment, Ms. Kristine Scarry, Supervisor of English/Language Arts, Ms. Annmarie Steltzer, Assistant Supervisor of English/Language Arts and Ms. Janet Oldewurtel, Literacy Specialist Teacher	

7:30 PM	E.	Presentation on Special Education Citizens Advisory Committee, Ms. Colleen Sasdelli, Director of Special Education
		SECAC Presentation
7:50 PM	F.	Presentation on Proposed Revisions of Board Policy 10-0002-000 Harford County Board of Education Citizen Advisory Committees, Ms. Heather Kutcher, Executive Director of Curriculum, Instruction, & Assessment and Kimberly H. Neal, Esq., General Counsel  • 0002-000 Harford County Board of Education Citizen Advisory Committees - Original Policy  • 0002-000 Harford County Board of Education Citizen Advisory Committees Revised Policy Draft
		Citizens Advisory Committee Timeline 2023-2024
8:10 PM	G.	Superintendent's Report
8:20 PM	Н.	Public Comments
9:05 PM		Future Meetings Review Adjournment
		NOTE: PUBLISHED AGENDAS ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE.

To request disability-related reasonable accommodations, please call 410-838-7300 voice, 7-1-1 TTY or e-mail Communications@hcps.org at least three days prior to the meeting/event. This document is available in alternative form upon request.

The Harford County Public School system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, disability, or age in employment or programs or activities and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. Inquiries regarding HCPS non-discrimination policies should be directed to Paula Stanton, Manager of Equity and Cultural Proficiency, 410-809-6065.

## Harford County Board of Education Strategic Plan:

Goal 1: Prepare every student for success in postsecondary education and career.

Goal 2: Engage families and the community to be partners in the education of our students.

Goal 3: Hire and support highly effective staff who are committed to building their own professional capacity in order to increase student achievement.

Goal 4: Provide safe, secure, and healthy learning environments that are conducive to effective teaching and learning, creativity and innovation.

## Board business meetings are recorded and aired by Harford Cable Network

Dr. Sean W. Bulson, Superintendent of Schools and Secretary-Treasurer

Dr. Carol L. Mueller, President, Elected Member, Councilmanic District C Wade A. Sewell, Vice-President, Elected Member, Councilmanic District B Diane M. Alvarez, Elected Member, Councilmanic District F Carol P. Bruce, Elected Member, Councilmanic District E *Melissa L. Hahn,* Elected Member, Councilmanic District D Dr. Joyce Herold, Appointed Member-at-Large Denise E. Perry, Elected Member, Councilmanic District A Dr. Roy Phillips, Appointed Member-at-Large Patrice J. Ricciardi, Appointed Member-at-Large Noa S. Blanken, Student Board Member

Yvonne Rallo, Board of Education Administrative Support Coordinator