Board of Education of Harford County

Agenda

Monday, April 24, 2023

Board Open Session :	5:30 PM -	Board Room
Board Closed Session:	5:35 PM -	Board Executive Conference Room
Board Business Meeting:	6:30 PM -	Board Room

*Times are approximate

0.70.514			
6:30 PM		Call to Order: Board President	
		Quorum Roll Call	
		Adoption of Agenda	
		Pledge of Allegiance	
6:35 PM	А.	2023 Harford County Envirothon 5th Topic Presentation, Mr. Howard Eakes, Acting Supervisor of Science at HCPS	
6:55 PM	В.	Board Member Comments	
7:10 PM	C.	Public Comments	
7:55 PM	D.	Consent Agenda	
		1. Contract Award: Internet Circuits	
		2. Contract Award: Playground Design and Installation at Roye Williams Elementary School	
		3. Minutes of Previous Board Meeting: March 27, 2023	
8:00 PM	E.	Presentation on National Board Certification, Ms. Rebecca Spencer, Supervisor of Teacher Preparation & Professional Development	
8:25 PM	F.	Appointment of Kindergarten Science Program Study Group, Ms. Heather Kutcher, Executive Director of Curriculum, Instruction, & Assessment, Mr. Andrew Renzulli, Director of Curriculum, Instruction, & Assessment, and Mr. Howard Eakes, Acting Supervisor of Science	
		Presentation for Kindergarten Science Curriculum	
8:40 PM	G.	Expansion of Middle School Writing Curriculum, Ms. Heather Kutcher, Executive Director of Curriculum, Instruction, 8 Assessment and Mr. Andrew Renzulli, Director of Curriculum, Instruction, & Assessment	

Assessment and Mr. Andrew Renzulli, Director of Curriculum, Instruction, & Assessment

- 7th Grade Writing Curriculum Expansion Presentation
 - Grade 7 Writing about Reading Standards Alignment
 - Grade 7 Writing Realistic Standards Alignment
 - Grade 7 Art of Argument Standards Alignment

8:55 PM H. Adoption of High School Mathematics Textbook Selection, Ms. Heather Kutcher, Executive Director of Curriculum, Instruction, & Assessment and Mr. Andrew Renzulli, Director of Curriculum, Instruction, & Assessment

• Mathematics High School Textbook Review Committee Presentation

9:10 PM I. Decision on Transfer of Fund Balance, Ms. Deborah Judd, Assistant Superintendent for Business Services

 9:30 PM
 J.
 Decision on Award of Contract for Homestead/Wakefield Elementary School Replacement, Mr. Cornell Brown, Assistant Superintendent for Operations and Mr. Chris Morton, Supervisor of Planning and Construction

 9:50 PM
 K.
 Superintendent's Report

 10:00 PM
 Future Meetings Review Adjournment

 NOTE: PUBLISHED AGENDAS ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE.

To request disability-related reasonable accommodations, please call 410-838-7300 voice, 7-1-1 TTY or e-mail Communications@hcps.org at least three days prior to the meeting/event. This document is available in alternative form upon request.

The Harford County Public School system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, disability, or age in employment or programs or activities and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. Inquiries regarding HCPS non-discrimination policies should be directed to Paula Stanton, Manager of Equity and Cultural Proficiency, 410-809-6065.

Harford County Board of Education Strategic Plan:

Goal 1: Prepare every student for success in postsecondary education and career.

Goal 2: Engage families and the community to be partners in the education of our students.

Goal 3: Hire and support highly effective staff who are committed to building their own professional capacity in order to increase student achievement.

Goal 4: Provide safe, secure, and healthy learning environments that are conducive to effective teaching and learning, creativity and innovation.

Board business meetings are recorded and aired by Harford Cable Network

Dr. Sean W. Bulson, Superintendent of Schools and Secretary-Treasurer

Dr. Carol L. Mueller, President, Elected Member, Councilmanic District C
Wade A. Sewell, Vice-President, Elected Member, Councilmanic District B
Diane M. Alvarez, Elected Member, Councilmanic District F
Carol P. Bruce, Elected Member, Councilmanic District E
Melissa L. Hahn, Elected Member, Councilmanic District D
Dr. Joyce Herold, Appointed Member-at-Large
Denise E. Perry, Elected Member, Councilmanic District A
Dr. Roy Phillips, Appointed Member-at-Large
Patrice J. Ricciardi, Appointed Member-at-Large
Noa S. Blanken, Student Board Member

Yvonne Rallo, Board of Education Administrative Support Coordinator